Gambeson

So, what will be my next project in the preparations for Battle of Wisby 2013? I dread to say that the most urgent thing right now is to finish my gambeson. I started to make one after BoW 2011 and I have cursed it many times since then. Now I really just want to get it over with. But If I want to do any fighting this summer, I’ll need it. That means I’ve got a lot of hard work ahead of me…

205105_10150174947133905_48322963904_6546128_2965525_n

This is BoW organizer Thomas in his well fitted and well used gambeson. I’m taking his advice on how to make my own.

I like the marked waist and the lines of his quilting.

I like the marked waist and the lines of his quilting.

The making of my pattern in 2011. This project will for sure put my skills of fitting grand assietts to the test.

The making of my pattern in 2011. This project will for sure put my skills of fitting grand assietts to the test.

DSC02092

I’m aiming for a nice slim silhouette with a globular shape of the chest, 14th century style. The circles are for placing the extra layers of cotton felt-padding to achieve just that.

Panzar 010

Working in a frame makes the stitching easier and helps control the shrinkage that happens when you quilt.

Panzar 008

I adjust the size and shape on the fabric after my pattern, as I go along. I really want a good fitting gambeson, or it isn’t worth the bother at all.

Panzar 011

Adjusting the lines on the fabric after each seam.

11913_10151732978322926_353416413_n

This is how far I’ve got until this day. The parts above my waist are ready and well fitted. It looks promising, but a lot of work yet remains.

This entry was posted in Battlefield, Textile Crafts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gambeson

  1. Christine Carnie says:

    I love the images of the quilting in a frame, I never thought of doing it that way! I might give a gambeson a try, your blog is very inspirational 🙂

  2. Ida says:

    Thank you! 😀 The Battle of Wisby organizers Thomas and Maria (http://indemejarecristi.wordpress.com/) recommended me to use this method, but I know it is not commonly used among reenachters today. (It is more commonly used among people who usually quilt for a profession, though.) I think it works out really well, I feel that I have very much control over what I’m doing and how the material is behaving in this way.

  3. Lisa Tegelmark says:

    Wow, så sjukt snygg den är på Thomas! Ser fram emot att se dig i en sån. Vill ha en själv, men det är inget jag prioriterar att sy nu. Men om jag nån gång gör det, kommer jag be dig om råd. 🙂

  4. Very nice work, it looks impressive, and a lot of thought went into it! I have made a gambeson myself and I know how much work it involves ( and mine was a much simpler and rudimentary piece). Very inspirational!

Leave a Reply

