Winter March

The snow is slowly melting outside my window and winter is fading away. It is hard to believe now that I was out on a winter march in my medieval gear only a month ago! I was invited to join in on Albrechts Bössors annual winter march and felt happy for an opportunity to stress test some of my latest gear for Swedish winter.

Photo: Sofia Stenler

Photo: Sofia Stenler

To prepare myself for an adventure in the woods heavy with snow, I made sure to read AB:s guide “Coping with Winter“, excellently written by my friend Johan. The reading reminded me of a few important things to think of. For instance I started to work on the red hood I posted about earlier. I made it tight and snug, to protect my neck against heaps of snow falling from trees and also the obvious threat of friendly snowballs aiming my way… But otherwise I reckoned my shoes would be the most critical part of my equipment. In time I’d like to to invest in a larger pair for winter use, so that I can fit more than one pair of needlebound socks into them.

Photo: Sofia Stenler

Photo: Sofia Stenler

Johan and Boudica looking epic

Johan and Boudica looking epic

It is easy to stay warm while in motion, even if it is a really cold day. Once you stop you’ll get colder just by not moving, especially if you have the slightest tendency to get sweaty. The warm damp linnen against your skin instantly gets cold and damp instead. Also, if you stand still, the snow will start to melt under your shoes and the leather will slowly absorb the icy cold. If cooking or just resting a moment, it might be cleaver to adjust your clothing and have some sort of foliage to stand on – it helps a lot!

Photo: Sofia Stenler

Photo: Sofia Stenler

SS1

Root vegetables with barley-grain and sausage was on the menu. After the long walk I found it delicious!

Ida2

For the walk I was wearing a short linnen shift, a Birgitta cap and my new red hood. Sadly the edging of it wasn’t completed, but it was funtionable enough. During the first part of the tour I had my knee-high stockings, a thin pair of needlebound socks and matching striped mittens. The outer layers consisted of my old green cotthardie and a Herjolfsnes-inspired dress with short sleeves.

Two layers of wool and almost bare legs under the dress was absolutely fine while walking, even thou there were countless of occasions when I suddenly burst through the deep snow with a loud surprised squee and found myself standing with snow up till my the waist…

Photo: Viktoria Holmqvist

Photo: Viktoria Holmqvist

After eating it became obvious that I had been still to long.  I was freezing and had to change into a pair of hoses. I decided to care less about the discussion regarding the existence of medieval female underwear, and more about my personal comfort. While I was at it, the dog in our company became awfully curious about what I was doing and my friend Sofia was quickly there with the camera…

Photo: Sofia Stenler

Photo: Sofia Stenler

This entry was posted in Other Events and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

