Interview with the organizers

Maria Neijman, Stockholm, Sweden

What is your is interest in the 14th century? Daily life, crafts (preferably textile crafts) and warfare

Are you in to any kind of organized medievalism? Yes, Albrechts Bössor, Fraternis Militia Carnis and of course Battle of Wisby-1361!

 How do you feel about the upcoming event? All exited!

What is your best memory from the Battle of Wisby 2011? Immediately after the great battle on Saturday when all the fighters came back from the battlefield, all happy and all tired. The crowd watching the battle overwhelmed and touched. Then I could exhale and feel that it was worth all the hard work.

How did you participate? I was organizing the camp and the workshops.

Do you have any plans already about what you would like do during the Battle of Wisby 2013? Participate in some workshops! But mainly organize this whole thing again.

What do you think can be done differently this year, in order to make an even better event? Now when we know what to expect, roughly, we can plan better. We can also have more workshops (wohoo!) and we know that we can fit more people on the field.

Photo: Johan Sjöberg

Photo: Johan Sjöberg

Peter Ahlqvist, Växjö, Sweden

What is your is interest in the 14th century? Cooking and handgonnes

Are you in to any kind of organized medievalism? Yup. I am a proud member of the king’s own gunners in Albrechts Bössor.

How do you feel about the upcoming event? I really don’t know. I know I will have to work a lot, stress a lot and neglect myself and my family for about four months, but otherwise I guess I feel great.

What is your best memory of the Battle of Wisby 2011? I was walking back home from camp in the middle of the night after finishing the last stuff that needed to be done. Then I saw the guard walking the ridge towards Kung Magnus väg, complete with cloaks, helmets, halberds and lanterns in the dark. I believe it is the most medieval experience I have ever had.

How did you participate? I had the great pleasure of being one of three main organizers. I also took part in the battle, which was swell!

Do you have any plans already about what you would like do during the Battle of Wisby 2013? Organize . If I could, I would like to go on a pilgrimage to Bro church, plus have a couple of beers with my German friends (and any other friend that happen to show up).

What do you think can be done differently this year, in order to make an even better event? I would like to be able to provide the participants with more info at an earlier stage. I would also like to be able to at least compensate our foreign friends for their travels to the event.

This entry was posted in From the BoW organizers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

