Exited participants

This morning I did few interviews with some of the participants from BoW 2011, some of whom have stated that they plan to also attend BoW 2013 . I got all tingly with excitment, inspired by their commitment to the project! Thank you all for your contribution! Some of the interwievs will have to wait for publishing until later, but I’m looking forward to sharing them.

Sofia Lindblom, Norrköping, Sweden

What is your is interest in the 14th century? It started with a general historic interest and developed into curiosity about the common peasant in medieval Sweden.

Are you in to any kind of organized medievalism? I’m connected tom OMMS, Ostrogothia Medieval Missile Society and Bondeuppbådet I Östergötland (the peasant militia of Ostrogothia)

How do you feel about the upcoming event? I’m so excited, and I just can’t hide it… Hahah, no, but really, this is a big and stunning event, and the fact that we do it in public makes it a big event advertising our living history/reenactment interest in the best way.

Your best memory from the Battle of Wisby 2011? The battle outside the city wall, which made quite an impression. It was huge, and the original must have been horrific. And my workshop inside the camp, I was giving an introduction to gold work a very windy day.

How did you and your family participate? Workshops for me, battle for my husband and some random strolling for the kids.

Do you have any plans already about what you would like do during the Battle of Wisby 2013? Hopefully I will both give and attend workshops in the camp. And I want to make LOTS and LOTS of new friends and I want to see the battle again. No matter how much I know it’s no use, I’ll always cross my fingers for the gutes.

What do you think can be done differently this year, in order to make an even better event? Some kind of place to gather, an in-camp public fire where you always can hang around to meet and talk with all the people living there. Areas signed for different crafts, maybe, in same kind of spirit. A nearby place for archery would be really nice.

Fia

Magnus Jansson, Norrtälje, Sweden

What is your is interest in the 14th century? I like the later parts of 14th century. I find the clothing and armours at that time very beautiful.

Are you in to any kind of organized medievalism? Yes. I’m envolved in Tempelriddarna af Roden. We reenact the knights Templars. And then of course involved a little bit in BoW project.

How do you feel about the upcoming event?  I have goosebumps all over. That exited am I.

What is your best memory of the Battle of Wisby 2011? I went to Wisby just to watch the battle. I remember getting up at 4 am on Saturday, driving to Nynäshamn, taking the boat over to Gotland. Then I watched the battle and took the boat home again at 2 am. I had no sleep for 24 hours so I was a bit tired afterwards.

Do you have any plans already about what you would like do during the Battle of Wisby 2013? This time I plan to live in the camp, have some vacation and just be chilling out. And some fighting of course!

What do you think can be done differently this year, in order to make an even better event? Some more archers in the battle would be nice.

This entry was posted in Interwievs and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

